Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

Watch For Ice

Leave a comment

As I was driving home yesterday afternoon, one of the traffic signs I passed said “Watch For Ice On Road.” I looked to see what my truck said the outdoor temperature was: 74 degrees. When I got home, I checked the forecast: Low of 61 degrees.

These are permanent signs, but they fold up when not needed. We certainly didn’t need them this last summer, when we had 70+ days of over 100 degree temperatures. I guess they just unfold them at some point in the autumn and leave them unfolded until some point in the spring.

I wanted to take a picture of the sign and my vehicle’s temperature gauge both in view, but there was no stopping on that highway.

Postaday2011 #349

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

Leave a Reply

