Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

Earthquake

1 Comment

Yesterday I felt the earth (noun) quake (verb). Or, yesterday I felt the earthquake (noun). Either way, I felt my office building sway in downtown Austin.

I was sitting at my desk, working at my computer. A few minutes before 7:30 a.m., my entire cubicle desk started moving ever so slightly while I was sitting still in my chair. The swaying lasted only a few seconds. When it stopped, I said “What was that?!” My coworker, Steve, came over and asked if I had felt it, too. I certainly did.

The 4.6-magnitude earthquake was centered in Karnes county (southeast of San Antonio) and felt in downtown San Antonio. Downtown Austin is about 100 miles north of downtown San Antonio. The online newspaper reports that the 4.6 magnitude is a preliminary value. I guess that means someone may change their mind about it later.

I checked with a few other coworkers and they hadn’t noticed anything. That may have something to do with me being on the 5th floor of my building and they are on the 2nd floor in another building. It might be that the building Steve and I work in is much older than the building where the others work. The older building might not be as immune to earthquakes as the newer building.

I’m hoping that as close to an earthquake as I ever get.

Postaday2011 #294

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

One thought on “Earthquake

  1. Oh how I hope never to experience that! We have tornado’s here inn IL and I have seen enough of them, hate them…glad you are ok

Leave a Reply

