Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

Eukaryote

2 Comments

Eukaryote. I used this word in a short story, recently. When I used it, I didn’t know how to pronounce it. It has four syllables. you-KARE-ee-ote. It’s now my word of the day week month.

Eukaryotes are organisms that have a cell nucleus. Prokaryotes are organisms that lack a cell nucleus. (Wikipedia)

Now, some people think that some other people lean too much on Wikipedia. Maybe I’m one of the latter and maybe I’m one of the latter. [sic] You know who you are and I know who I am. My point is that Eukaryote is not in my hard-copy dictionary (copyright 1982, 1985), so off to the web I went.

I have to repeat the word over and over to get used to its sound. you-KARE-ee-ote.

Sure. You karyote, I karyote, everyone karyotes. And Prokaryotes are the professional karyoters, of course.

Postaday2011 #278

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

2 thoughts on “Eukaryote

  1. You crazy karyote. Which gives me an idea for another blog title. Hmmm.

Leave a Reply

