Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

Molly

Leave a comment

Recently I took a doll-making workshop, hosted by the Austin Fiber Artists club. The workshop was taught by Barbara Johnston, a wonderful professional doll-maker. It was fun! Here is the result: Molly. Her full name is Good Golly, Miss Molly!

She is a soft-sculpture doll, from the Stitch Witch pattern by Magic Threads. The workshop lasted 2 days (approximately 11 hours over the 2 days) and I still wasn’t finished making the doll. I worked another 5 hours after I got home so that I could take the doll to work for show-and-tell on Monday. Molly is wearing 11 different fabrics that I chose from my “collection,” for a total of 12 fabrics when counting the face and hand fabric that the instructor provided as part of the kit fee.

A soft sculpture doll

Good Golly, Miss Molly!

Molly was very popular on my show-and-tell tour. Many people commented that I could sell such dolls. And yes, I could, as the pattern maker gives permission for any person to sell up to 20 dolls per year using this pattern, if the seller “identifies the original designer on any marketing materials, advertising materials, tags, press releases or any other promotion.” But at 16 hours of work, no one could afford such a doll. They are art or gifts of love, or both, but not for sale when I make them.

Head shot of a soft-sculpture doll

Molly

Postaday2011 #275

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

Leave a Reply

