Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

TF&G Bowhunting Quiz

Leave a comment

The October 2011 issue of Texas Fish & Game magazine (Inland Edition) has a quiz. This month’s quiz is on bowhunting.

I don’t know a thing about bowhunting, so I read the quiz just to see what was covered. Here’s one question that interested me.

#15: True or False: Whitetails can see colors.

Answer: False. Whitetails see shades. If you are wearing orange and a deer looks at you, you moved!

That’s all well and good and might even be helpful, but it’s confusing, at least to this non-any-kind-of-hunter.

“If you are wearing orange …” is the phrase that catches my eye. If I wear orange and a deer looks at me, I moved. Check. If I’m wearing green and a deer looks at me, did it hear a tree fall in the forest? Maybe the deer is just looking in my direction even when I didn’t move. What if I’m wearing fuchsia socks, what will the deer do then? Is peach considered a shade of orange?

There are just so many things that a hunter knows that I don’t. And I’m okay with that.

Postaday2011 #265

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

Leave a Reply

