Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

Cry Baby

Leave a comment

I am a tender-hearted individual. I’m soft. I am such a cry baby.

Many years ago I learned not to watch nature shows. It finally dawned on me that the lion/cheetah/tiger chasing down the zebra/gazelle/water buffalo and killing it really was killing it. That was the end of my desire to see any show that covered Mother Nature’s food chain. I don’t even want to see a Venus Fly Trap trap a fly.

You might think that having made my choice, I could avoid any nature shows. At home, yes. Out in public, usually, but not always. Any business that has a TV for their customers to watch is a potential ambush situation. A regular place for me to be ambushed is the car wash. It doesn’t matter what time of day I take my car in for a wash, when I turn around from paying my bill, there is a nature show on TV. My choices are to sit inside and weep or sit outside.

I choose to sit outside. I’m sure the car wash employees think I am crazy. I’m sitting outside when the weather is cold, cold, cold and when it is hot, hot, hot and everything in between. But I’m not crying about it.

Postaday2011 #249

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

Leave a Reply

