Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

Kit It Up A Notch

Leave a comment

I have a “fabric collection.” That means that I buy quilting fabric without a project in mind. I buy it because it’s pretty without having to do anything to it. I can buy it, take it home, wash it (or not) and put it with my other, pretty fabric. Occasionally, I sew. I sew an item, a small item, then feel the need to buy more fabric.

Every once in a while, I have a specific project in mind. I buy the book or pattern, the fabric, the thread and any other required notions. Within a few days of bringing the project items into the house, they are scattered. The fabric has migrated to the main fabric collection. The thread goes in the thread box. The notions go in the drawer. When I decide to start on the project, I can’t find a thing. Sometimes I have already used some of the fabric for another, spur-of-the-moment project. The original project is abandoned.

Curses! Foiled again!

Ah, but then I got an idea. Actually, I borrowed it from the quilt shops that I frequent. They sell kits for projects. What a great idea, I thought! I decided to “kit up” my own projects. I take jumbo storage bags (the 2.5 gallon size or larger) and I put everything for a project in the plastic bag: in goes the pattern, the fabric, the thread, the zippers, the stabilizer and the like.

Eureka! (Now might be a good time to consider buying stock in companies that make those storage bags. I’m certainly doing my part to keep them in business.)

I can’t stack up the kitted bags, as they slip and slide off of each other, scattered all over the floor. And I can’t have that, as I need that horizontal surface for other items. I ended up with several shopping bags full of project kits. Which kit is in which bag? That’s a project in itself, finding that out.

Postaday2011 #229 Kit It Up A Notch

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

Leave a Reply

