Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

A Confession

Leave a comment

I have a confession to make: I haven’t read the Harry Potter books. I didn’t intend for it to turn out this way. Oh, we own all the books, as hubby has read them. Somehow, though, I didn’t get around to reading them. By the time the third or fourth movie was out, I decided I might as well wait until all the movies were out before reading the books.

I saw the last movie, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, yesterday. I dragged hubby to it (kindly and gently), for the first 3D showing on Sunday morning. This last movie is the only one of the series that I insisted on seeing on opening weekend. I couldn’t bear the thought of going to work on Monday and having someone talk about the movie in one of my meetings, spoiling it for me. I thought about delivering an edict of “No Harry Potter discussions while I am in the room!” but some people just don’t mind very well and once the damage is done, it can’t be undone.

I bought my tickets online ahead of time. We arrived at the theater an hour early because I “just knew” it would be sold out and we’d have problems getting seats if we sauntered into the theater at our normal five or so minutes before the start time. We were the third and fourth people to get a seat. Whew! Barely made it, right? Our particular movie time was mostly full, but did not sell out. A half-hour lead time would have been fine instead of the hour. Hubby has been nice and hasn’t mentioned that. Yet.

During the trivia tidbits and snack bar advertisements, I was sleepy and hungry. I managed to perk up when the previews started and then really paid attention when we put on our 3D glasses. We didn’t get the Harry Potter-shaped 3D glasses, but you can’t have everything. And neither can I.

The Harry Potter movie series has given us so much entertainment. I’m looking forward to the books, as well. Maybe I’ll read each book and then watch the accompanying movie. Sounds like a plan!

Postaday2011 #199

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

Leave a Reply

