Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

Secret Sauce

Leave a comment

I decided to cook the other day. Yes, yes, I know, not one of my normal activities, but I try it every once in a while. I was at the grocery store, picked up a cookbook and found a recipe that I wanted to try. I carried the cookbook around the store, gathering the ingredients. I only had to ask for help once, and that was to find the chipotle pepper. Turns out I had passed it a couple of times already, but just didn’t see it.

The recipe was Spicy Baked Beans with Kale, from the 21-Day Weight Loss Kickstart book, by Neal D. Barnard, M.D. I just now noticed the title of the book, which isn’t strictly a cookbook. I bought it because the recipes are vegan and when I looked through it, there were several I wanted to try. The menus and recipes are by Jason Wyrick. The book’s subtitle is “Boost metabolism, lower cholesterol, and dramatically improve your health.” Well, I’m all for all of those things, so I’m glad I bought it.

Back to the recipe, Spicy Baked Beans with Kale. It wasn’t hard to prepare: sauté a few items, add a few more and throw everything into the oven. (Some recipes have a “Making it Simple” section with instructions on how to cut off some of the preparation time, and some have a “Gourmet Touch” section, for anyone who might want to go to a little more effort.)

The results were tasty and I’ll be making the recipe again. But when I was cleaning up, I picked up the book — open to the recipe — and I noticed that it said “This Southern recipe features beans and greens in a sauce so flavorful, it might be habit forming.”

Sauce? My dish didn’t have any sauce, habit-forming or non-habit-forming. I re-read the recipe, in case I left out something (which is a habit of mine). No, there is no water, no broth, no liquid of any kind added to the recipe. Where was the sauce supposed to come from? I certainly don’t know and I don’t know what to do differently to end up with the flavorful sauce. Is this what they mean by a secret sauce?

Another recipe from the Kickstart book that I intend to prepare is Garlic Hash Browns with Kale. There’s no mention of a sauce there. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Postaday2011 #187

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

Leave a Reply

