Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

Bright Idea

Leave a comment

I had this bright idea last week. I decided to go to the park to walk right after work. I thought there would be trees and shade. At least some shade.

The park I chose is a fairly new park and while there are plenty of trees, they are not next to the walking trail except for one little passage. That left me to walk on the trail in the full, bright, 95+ degree sunlight. That was the ‘bright’ part of my idea. The bad part was the 95+ degrees in the full sunlight. I had my hat, I had my sunglasses, I had water. But there was no getting around it, I had full sunlight and about 90 per cent humidity at 5:00 p.m. in central Texas.

Who thought that was a good idea? Not me, really, as my idea was to walk mostly in the shade. However, the shade I was thinking about was not in this park, but in another park where other, smarter people were walking. There was no one — and I mean no one — besides me at this park.

I finally found the short passage that had a little shade from some very old, beautiful oak trees. I decided I liked that shade, liked it a lot. I walked it from one end to the other, over and over and over, much like the tin, yellow duckie in a carnival shooting gallery. Walk until I reach the sunlight, turn around and walk in the shade. Walk until I reach the sunlight at the other, not so far away edge of the shade, turn around and walk back in the shade. Ping! Ping!

I managed to walk until my planned time was up and zig-zagged from the shade of one tree to the next until I reached my truck, in the shady parking lot. Why was most of the shade in the parking lot? My truck was parked in the shade there, so I’m not complaining too much.

Next time I go (which won’t be soon), I’m going to plan my walking route to include the parking lot shade. I may not make it to the sunny trail.

Postaday2011 #175

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

Leave a Reply

