Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

Should I Worry?

Leave a comment

One day last week when I got back to the office after lunch, there was a book in my chair. I didn’t recognize the book. It wasn’t one of mine that I had lent out and someone was returning. There was no note. I asked the people in the cubicles next to me if they had left the book for me or if they saw who left it. No, they all replied, it wasn’t them and they didn’t see anything.

The book’s title is The Secrets of Facilitation, the S.M.A.R.T. Guide to Getting Results with Groups, by Michael Wilkinson.

Each workday, I’m in meetings for four hours (four one-hour meetings). Three of those one-hour meetings are mine; I run them. Did my meeting attendees get together, pool their money and buy me this book? Is it an anonymous hint? Should I worry, I wondered?

Before I started to fret, I decided to widen my circle of inquiry and asked people in offices down the adjoining hallway. Did you leave me a book?

Jackpot! One of them said yes. She said that we had talked about it a couple of years ago and that I had expressed an interest, so she left it for me. That mystery is solved. But what does S.M.A.R.T. stand for? Structured Meeting And Relating Techniques.

The front cover lists teasers at the bottom:

  • Ask questions that ignite a bonfire of responses
  • Discover the three reasons people disagree
  • Resolve dysfunctional behavior in four steps
  • Build consensus in meetings with five strategies
  • And much more …
  • I’m thinking I’ll read it, just so I won’t worry.

    Postaday2011 #170

    Author: Tresha Barger

    Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

    Leave a Reply

    