Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

Fifteen Minutes To Live

Leave a comment

Here is the first #Trust30 writing prompt:

We are afraid of truth, afraid of fortune, afraid of death, and afraid of each other. Our age yields no great and perfect persons. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

You just discovered you have fifteen minutes to live.

1. Set a timer for fifteen minutes.
2. Write the story that has to be written.

Well! That’s a pretty serious idea and “serious” is not my strong point, but here I go anyway.

What I did with my 15 minutes: I took the first 10 minutes and just thought about the idea of having only a short (and I do mean short) time left to live. I wish I had taken time to think before acting or talking many, many times. It’s good advice for me to follow, right up to the end. With my last 5 minutes, I have decided to give thanks, sort of like an actor’s speech when accepting an Oscar from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

There are a few specific Thank You’s that I think I am quite late in delivering.

To the driver who honked at me, screaming out his window when I turned left into his lane while he was in it, Thank You. I was wrong; I made a mistake. You noticed me and you altered your path, however grudgingly, and kept us from having an accident. Lest anyone wonder about my motives here, I assure you that I am sincere in my gratitude. I would much rather be on the receiving end of angry words and vulgar gestures than be in an accident, and I truly was in the wrong.

To the unknown person who picked up and mailed my lost, already stamped postcard to my brother while I was visiting Austin in 1973 (or thereabouts), Thank You. I have no idea when it fell out of my back pocket. I was happy and surprised when my brother told me he received my postcard.

There’s more but 5 minutes isn’t a very long time, is it?

#Trust30 #01

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

Leave a Reply

