Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

Zentangles

2 Comments

Left front of shirt with Zentangles drawn on it

Left front

Back of shirt with Zentangles drawn on it

Back of shirt with Zentangles

On the Learning-Something-New front: Zentangles. I had never heard of them. I saw a Zentangle art piece at the Wesley Gallery in Dripping Springs the first weekend in April. The artist was there, Diane, and she explained it to me and a friend.

A permanent marker. A piece of paper, or in Diane’s case, a piece of fabric. Draw one short line at a time and that’s it? I could hardly wait to get out of there and find an office supply store. I stopped at the closest one to the art gallery. I am now the proud owner of a set of Caribbean-colored ultra-fine permanent markers. First thing I did when I got home was get on the Internet and order some books (yes, more than one).

I practiced on paper for a few days, then I started looking around for something fabric-y to mark up embellish. (This is art, remember, so I’m allowed.) Finally hubby gave me two shirts he that he had worn out. Sweet! Here’s my first attempt at embellishing a shirt with Zentangles. It’s drawing, in the broadest sense.

There is a whole Zentangle culture out in the world where “anything is possible … one stroke at a time.” Traditional Zentangles, I’ve learned, are drawn in black. But there I was with a brand new set of colored markers. What’s an artist to do?

Postaday2011 #110

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

2 thoughts on “Zentangles

  1. Very nice, Tresha. And it sounds so relaxing. Thanks for sharing.

  2. These look fun. Keep practicing, so you can teach me.

Leave a Reply

