Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

Learning Something New

Leave a comment

Drawing of a ladder backed woodpecker

Ladder-Backed Woodpecker

It’s time I learned something new. That new something would be drawing. I’m one of those people who draws everything as a stick figure, and most of them look the same. I’ve wanted to draw for years, years. Now that’s I’ve taken a few watercolor classes (two, to be exact), I’ve started thinking about drawing again.

Wouldn’t it be nice if what I drew was actually — or even somewhat — recognizable as the subject? Recognizable enough that people could make an educated guess as to what it was and be right some most of the time?

Stranger things have happened. For instance, one day (07 Jan 2010, to be exact), I decided to draw a woodpecker. I had seen a woodpecker at our gate post, pecking away a day or so earlier. I couldn’t get a photo of it before it flew away, but I researched it on the Internet.

It looked to be a Ladder-Backed Woodpecker. Here is that drawing. It looks like a woodpecker, doesn’t it? (And that’s a tree that it’s hanging onto, a not-so-recognizable tree). It is the only thing I’ve ever drawn. But I’m thinking it’s time for that to change. I’ll be posting drawings from time to time, to keep you updated on my progress efforts. I won’t even make you guess what it is I’m trying to draw; I’ll label each one.

Postaday2011 #108

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

Leave a Reply

