Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

Catch Me If You Can

1 Comment

Catch Me If You Can is a movie about a con man and the FBI’s efforts to track him down.

My version of Catch Me If You Can deals with handles: purse handles, tote bag handles, handles on lunch bags, grocery bags, any kind of handles on any kind of bags.

These (portable) handles catch on other (stationary) handles: door knobs/handles/latches, parking brakes, chair handles, chair adjustment handles (at the office and in my vehicle). (There must be a dozen adjustment handles on my office chair. I have no idea what any of them do.) The result is that I’m going through a doorway, exiting my vehicle, standing up from my chair only to be jerked back because some tote bag I’m holding onto has wrapped its handle around these other non-movable handles. It pretty much looks like the cartoon version, where the person is almost jerked off their feet.

If my tote bag handles aren’t busy twining themselves around chair handles, they take time to situate themselves under the chair’s feet. You’d think I’d learn.

I do learn. Again and again and again. Catch me if you can … and you can. I’m the one trying to pry the bag handles away from my office chair.

Postaday2011 #105

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

One thought on “Catch Me If You Can

  1. Last Friday I was leaving work in a hurry, stuffing my id badge into my purse and rummaging for my keys and adjusting my book bag. I held the door long enough for the person behind me to take it, dashed forward and was abruptly jerked back into that same person when my badge strap caught on the door handle. I’m sure she was thinking “Don’t do me any favors, next time I’ll hold my own door!”

    For me these moments are big reminders to SLOW DOWN!!! They’re certainly more effective reminders than the signs in the stair well…

Leave a Reply

