Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

The Letter S

Leave a comment

“You have an ‘S’ on your blouse,” a co-worker said to me. I just looked at her. I didn’t know what she was talking about. She repeated, “You have an ‘S’ on your blouse, right there.” I looked where she was pointing. Sure enough, there was an ‘S’ there.

You know those clear plastic strips some manufacturers put on clothes, to indicate the size? That’s what it was. I wasn’t trying to be a Minnie Pearl copycat, I just hadn’t noticed the long plastic strip down the front of my new blouse. I didn’t notice it when I bought it, not when I took it out of the bag when I got home and hung it up, not when I took it off the hangar, put it on and not when I looked in the mirror.

I ripped off the plastic strip and threw it away. I now make an extra check of new clothes before I wear them. It’s a tough life being a fashion queen. Or I should say, it’s probably a tough life being a fashion queen. If I ever get the chance to meet a fashion queen to verify that, I’ll let you know what she says.

Postaday2011 #99

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

Leave a Reply

