Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

Rinse, Repeat

Leave a comment

Rinse, repeat. That’s part of the instructions for using shampoo. For me, it’s part of getting used to my new washer. Our old washer broke. We considered having it repaired, but that would have been close to half the price of a new washer. And washing machine technology changed considerably in the last 17 years, so we bought a new washer.

It’s an Energy Star and an HE washer. I stumble with the “HE” and say “High Energy” when that is exactly the opposite. “HE” is “High Efficiency.”

I can’t remember all the washing machines I’ve ever used, but the routine seems to have been pretty much the same: start the washer, put in the soap, put in the clothes, shut the lid. This one is different. First you put in the clothes. It weighs them to determine how much water to use. It locks the lid when it starts. It has no agitator, but that doesn’t stop me from arranging the clothes around the perimeter as if there were an agitator there, as I’ve done for the last 45 years or so.

The washer is new enough that I’m still reading the instructions (gasp!) before using it. I put the special HE soap into the special HE soap dispenser drawer. I put in the clothes (around the perimeter), close the lid and press the START button. The lid locks, it washes, it beeps at me when it is done. Having a beeper on the washer is new, too.

But when I take out the clothes and put them in the dryer, I notice the special HE soap dispenser drawer is not pushed in. Oh. Does it open when the washer is done? I don’t know. There is no soap in it, but somehow I don’t think that it was supposed to be open during the wash.

Rats! Decision, which is worse: a load of clothes that was rinsed and not washed or re-doing a load of clothes that — maybe — was washed? I decide to wash them again.

This time I pay attention. I put in the soap. I close the soap drawer. When the washer beeps at me, I open the lid and look at the soap drawer. It is closed. Ah, just as I suspected.

Postaday2011 #95

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

Leave a Reply

