Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

Circus Peanuts

Leave a comment

I love circus peanuts. Not the real peanuts, but the candy circus peanuts. Pure molded sugar with a little artificial orange coloring thrown in. It just doesn’t get any better than that. I can eat them until I am sick and then still look in the empty bag, wishing for more.

Unfortunately, circus peanuts are everywhere. They are in the grocery store, of course. And all the little convenience stores. Also in the gas stations’ mini marts. Cabela’s. Bass Pro Shops. Tractor Supply. Hobby Lobby. Academy Sports and Outdoors. Help, I can’t get away!

I like to make sure they are fresh before buying them. Just a tiny squeeze to see if there is any give. If not, I don’t buy them. I have my standards, after all.

To all you circus peanuts merchants out there, I have a suggestion. Put a coupon on the circus peanuts bag to make them even more enticing. Something along the lines of “Special Today! $5 off your purchase of pants or t-shirt!”

You won’t have to say that I’ll be needing the next size up. I figured out that part already.

Postaday2011 #84

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

Leave a Reply

