Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

Pink to Blue

Leave a comment

I changed my favorite color from pink to blue. There are a couple of reasons for it. One, I saw the blue case for my friend’s phone. It was a beautiful robin’s egg blue. Immediately, I decided that shade of blue was my new favorite color. I couldn’t find a case for my phone in that color, but I got as close as I could.

Having a favorite color does not mean that everything I own is that color. Finding items in a particular shade is difficult. Right now I only have a few items in that beautiful blue. I’m not even looking for anything else in that color, mostly I just admire it.

I keep a favorite color for years. I even remember a brown phase, quite a while back. I’m pretty sure this is my first blue period.

The other reason for changing from pink to blue is, of course, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. Dolores Jane Umbridge, Senior Undersecretary to the Minister for Magic, made pink synonymous with meanness. Maybe that was just fuzzy pink, but I couldn’t take that chance. The damage was done and it was then that I started hunting around for a new favorite color. People are judged by the company they keep and I just could not bear the thought of being associated with her. Pink had to go.

So now I’m in my blue period. It’s about the only thing I have in common with Pablo Picasso.

Postaday2011 #81

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

Leave a Reply

