Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

How Sweet

Leave a comment

Twitter emailed me, saying they missed me. How sweet! A sweet tweet!

I must say, I was a little surprised to get the email. I haven’t really picked up on this Twitter culture. Oh, I signed up, followed a few famous people for a while, then unfollowed them, then quit signing on. I have all of six followers, myself. My Twitter activity is sporadic and I guess Twitter would like to hear from me more.

When I post to Plinky, they have a feature that will let me send my post to Twitter. I did that for a while, but now it doesn’t work, at least not for me. It gives me an error and says “Try again later.” It never works later, either. That was my main Twitter contribution.

I like the TxDOT tweets, about traffic conditions (TxDOT = Texas Department of Transportation, pronounced “Tex-dot”). They even let you choose which region you want tweets for, so you don’t have to slog through traffic conditions for the whole state. That’s nice. Of course, Twitter is blocked from my work browser so I can only get my TxDOT Twitter traffic reports (try saying that three times real fast) after I get home. Getting stuck in traffic is one way to find out which route I should have avoided and that sometimes happens.

Roger Goodell, the Commissioner of the National Football League, also emailed me. Twice. I didn’t even know we were friends. Unfortunately, his email wasn’t as sweet as the Twitter email. He has bad news for me about the 2011 football season. Normally, I’d call it the “upcoming” season, but that’s the bad news: there might not be an “upcoming” season for 2011. Or there might be a season, and it might be shortened. Or . . . no one knows right now what will happen.

After reading Roger’s email (I can call him by his first name since we’re email friends, right?), I wondered about the player’s view of the situation. No professional football player was emailing me. I felt left out of the loop.

Well, after Twitter said they missed me, I signed in. Lo and behold! There were tweets about the professional football situation. I wasn’t out of the loop after all. I had forgotten that I follow one professional football player, a “local boy who done good.” You may have heard of him: Drew Brees, the quarterback for the New Orleans Saints, the XLIV Superbowl Champions (that’s Superbowl 44, for those of us who use Arabic numbers).

There may not be a 2011 professional football season, but I can follow more players on Twitter if I want to know what they are up to. However, I’d prefer to follow them on TV while they are playing. Maybe I’ll email Roger back, see if he needs my help straightening things out. Or better yet, I’ll tweet him.

Postaday2011 #77

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

Leave a Reply

