Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

Bookmarks

Leave a comment

Bookmarks. I have tons of them. I have no idea where they are. I regularly search for them, round them up and put them on my bedside table. Occasionally I’ll get to use one, but the next time I reach over to pick one up, they are gone.

That leads me to improvise. Receipts are good bookmarks. Why I have receipts on my bedside table, I don’t know. Magazine and catalogue inserts do a real good job of keeping my place in books. Where are the magazines and catalogues that contained those inserts? I don’t know.

Envelopes are also good bookmarks, and they get to double as notepads. This helps a lot, because I can never find one of those little yellow notepads to write on. I bought a big package of little yellow notepads at a big box store, and the package must have contained 50 notepads or so. I’ve no idea where they are.

My strangest bookmark? Somehow I ended up with a friend’s receipt for her electric bill payment from May 2009. I think I borrowed a book from her and she was using it as a bookmark.

Obviously I’m not the only one with bookmark issues.

Postaday2011 #76

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

Leave a Reply

