Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

On Being Prepared

Leave a comment

Yesterday morning it was about 66 degrees and clear when I got to work. Unbeknownst to me, a cold front came through just after 7:00 a.m. By the time I went for my walk on my break, it was misting and the temperature had dropped about 15 degrees.

Only I didn’t know that until I walked out the door without a coat, sweater or umbrella. Whoa! It was a light mist, so I decided to chance it. I managed to walk my normal route without freezing or getting too wet. My hair poofed up, proof of the high humidity level.

Then I went for a walk at lunch time, and this time I wore my sweater. Better, that was better, but I was cold; it was still 57 degrees. At least I was dry because the mist had stopped. More poofy hair, though.

After work, I went to Lady Bird Lake for a walk around the 4-mile loop. Having learned my lesson from the two previous outings, I made sure to take my jacket with me. Ha!

Only now the temperature was about 73 degrees. But I had my jacket and that’s all that matters, right? I got to wear it tied around my waist for the entire 4 miles. And yes, it did keep me warm.

It’s all about being prepared.

Postaday2011 #74

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

Leave a Reply

