Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

The Power of Suggestion

Leave a comment

Ah, the power of suggestion.

I was watching a reality show the other day as I was getting ready to eat. The show was Dr G, Medical Examiner. The narrator was introducing the scenario that led to someone ending up on Dr G’s table for their very last medical examination ever. The narrator mentioned how the family called 9-1-1 when they couldn’t wake up their family member.

I heard this as I was putting my food into the microwave. A few minutes later, while still on autopilot in the kitchen, I figured out that my food didn’t usually take this long to heat. So I looked at the microwave and there it was: counting down, and it wasn’t even close to 1-4-7 yet. That’s when I remembered programming in the 9-1-1.

My food was still edible, but I’m sure glad I didn’t leave it in there for the full 9 minutes, 11 seconds.

It’s always something.

Postaday2011 #19.

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

Leave a Reply

