Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

Part of the Landscape

Leave a comment

I bought a hands-free calling device for my vehicle not too long ago. Got it from a kiosk in the mall, of all places. I stopped in to look at the phone covers and came away with the hands-free device.

The device came in a box. And that’s all there was: the device and the box. No instructions. No instructions online.

I was supposed to remember how to use it from the 1-minute demonstration? I sort of, mostly remembered. And I have used it, once, while travelling to Houston.

The bad news was that it didn’t have instructions.

The good news was that it didn’t have instructions. It didn’t have instructions for me to lose. I have good intentions to keep all my instruction-type documents in one place. Where that place is, I don’t know. What really happens is that I come home, unbox the new item, set down the instructions somewhere, and never see them again. They become part of the interior landscape, blending in with all the other items I can’t find.

This time that didn’t happen. I may not know how to use the device, but I’m not cluttering up my house with the instructions and I’m not spending anytime looking for them, either. This is a different way of doing business, but I think I can adjust.

Postaday #13

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

Leave a Reply

