Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

Delivery Restrictions

Leave a comment

Shopping on the Internet is so much fun, isn’t it? Buying from the Internet may not be as much fun. And trying to get things delivered sometimes isn’t fun at all.

There is one cooking-based company that I really like. I used to order from them a lot, back in my cooking and baking days. Each catalogue that arrived in the mail was like a gift. It represented all the beautiful foods that I could make, if I just had the right utensil or one-of-a-kind ingredient. Wonderful family memories are made from things such as these, the catalogue implied.

I did try. Delivery restrictions were the first sign of a problem. This company would not deliver to a post office box. Fine. I put in my street address. I did this reluctantly, as there are problems with getting items delivered to our street address.

First there is the problem of someone (or several someones) destroying our mailbox, usually in the middle of the night. I remember leaving the house one morning and seeing mailboxes on the ground for a couple of miles. No mailbox? Can’t get anything delivered.

Additionally, there is the problem of misdelivery. I know quite a bit about my neighbors’ personal habits because I regularly get their mail. Who knows where my mail goes and if I ever get any of it back.

Then there is my favorite problem, the one with this cooking-based company. I buy an item. They mail it. The mail carrier will not leave it at the street box because it won’t fit. He leaves a notice that I can pick it up at the post office. Where? The post office, where my post office box is.

Sure enough, when I stand in line to pick up my package from the company who will not mail to a post office box, I am standing about 10 yards away from my very own post office box.

I finally quit baking, due to time constraints and changing priorities. That took care of this problem.

Post #7

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

Leave a Reply

