Perceptions

things aren't always as they seem

Always a Tourist

3 Comments

First prompt of the 2011 challenge: Which three countries would you like to visit?

Let’s be real. There is something interesting about every country. Some countries seem more inviting in one way or another at one time or another, but they all have something to offer. If I could, I’d visit each one.

One of my favorite things is talking to someone who loves where they live. I get to see their eyes light up when they talk about their area, the traditions, the places they get to go, the places that are no longer there, what they look forward to, what they would like to change. That’s when the heart of the city (village, town, county, country) opens up and welcomes me. I am happy to accept the invitation.

Author: Tresha Barger

Writer (blogs, humor, short stories, poetry) and artist (miniature art quilts, watercolor paintings, soft sculpture dolls)

3 thoughts on “Always a Tourist

  1. When I travel, I want to see its culture, art, to sense the local atmosphere, taste local food, architecture, music and finally to check those unknown sites for an average tourist.

    Happy travel and blogging!

  2. I’ve been to the USA, Bali, Japan, England, South Africa, Nigeria, New Zealand (birthplace) and I live in Australia. Yet I am a lousy tourist. I hate the actual travelling and when I get to my destination I never want to see the things I am supposed to as a tourist. I just like to blend in with the locals – the actually feel the place. Sounds as if you are a bit the same in that respect – you want to really experiece your destination, not just a bucket load of photos of the tourist attractions.

    • I’m not a good traveller, either, and feel the same about the destination. It’s the people who give a place magic. There are definitely structures all over the world that are historic and are worth seeing, but I still imagine the people who built them, who lived in them, who used them.

Leave a Reply

